Why are some state party names different?

In 1992
, a coalition of independent state political parties united to form a national third party. Since then, state parties have been organized in the states that were not part of this original coalition. In 1999, the party adopted the name "Constitution Party". Most states have now also adopted the "Constitution Party" name, but several, including the California American Independent Party, the Nevada Independent American Party, the Michigan Taxpayers Party, and the Connecticut Concerned Citizens Party, have kept their original names. Current laws in some states make it very difficult for minor parties to change their party name.